#tiaellenchats – my first year of university!

University is something that flips your life upside down completely, both in terms of education and way of life but it’s an experience I wouldn’t change for the world.

For those of you who don’t know, I started my first year of university in September 2016 studying a degree in Media and Communications. My degree teaches me a variety of theories and concepts all linking to the different fields within the media. I chose this degree because I loved media studies at A Level and I just simply wanted to learn more about the media world and discover where a degree in media would take me in life. On top of starting a degree I obviously moved away from home and into student accomodation. These are two huge changes for anybody and to be honest they were very overwhelming.

At the start of the year I will admit I wasn’t very organised, and I still think part of this had to do with living in my student flat and having to do more for myself, and this definitely reflected in my attitude towards my first few assignments and the results I was getting out of them. I will say, I wasn’t doing badly, but I certainly wasn’t doing my best. I loved my degree but not so much the workload. Like I mention in my About page, I strongly believe that in order to get things done I have to spark the fire inside of me that reminds me why I am doing whatever task I need to get done, in the first place. This is usually helped a lot by some visual motivation which usually comes in the form of the Studyblr community on Tumblr (You can find my studyblr here) and some of my favourite lifestyle and #Girlboss YouTubers (who I will be mentioning it some of my upcoming monthly favourites.) I find that the idea of my dream career alone isn’t enough to spark my fire and I need some pretty desk pictures and words of encouragement to go along with it.

I can honestly say that the minute I started planning my weeks, making to-do lists, making time to sit down and spread out assignments across a few days/weeks and actually doing the readings we were set prior to lectures, I started to see myself naturally putting more effort into my assignments and getting better results out of them.

University gave me the opportunity to meet some of the most amazing friends that I am pretty sure will be in my life for a long time now. They are amazing people and I’m so proud of how well they did throughout our first year. Believe it or not I’m not always the most positive person, so I’m very lucky to be surrounded by amazing people who inspire me, motivate me and help me stay positive and uplifted throughout my degree.

Reflecting on my first year of uni, after completing it with a 2:1, I know if I work as hard as I did towards the end of first year, in my second year by keeping up my planning habits and doing readings as they are set, I can do even better than I did this year and achieve things I wouldn’t have even thought were possible before I got accepted into university.

The aim of this post is to share my university experience with anyone who is starting uni in September or even anyone who wants to do better going into their second or third years. Having a routine of planning and staying organised will honestly help you keep track of the workload on top of allowing you to enjoy yourself. University is a big change but it’s also an amazing opportunity and experience and its a great foundation for you to #BuildYourEmpire on! I know university isn’t for everyone but I just wanted to share my personal experience as I feel like university is what I needed to encourage me to get organised and prove to myself that I am capable of more than I thought I was. I honestly believe without university, this blog, and my desire to share my tips with you all, wouldn’t even exist.

 

 

Leave a Reply

